Last Updated on August 20, 2014 4:27 pm
Moped owners in the state will have to register with NCDMV, starting in 2015, after Governor McCrory signed the measure into law two week ago.
The proposal had bounced back and forth between the House and Senate for the last several months, due to different votes and viewpoints on an insurance provision.
On June 19 the House Finance Committee approved House Bill 1145, but took out the requirement for mopeds to have insurance as was part of the original proposed bill. On Wednesday June 25 a Senate committee added the provision back in. In July the House once again rejected the insurance requirement.
In an article in June Representative Phillip Shepard, R-Onslow, told WataugaRoads.com that he proposed the bill because “lots of people have been in accidents with mopeds and they are responsible for repairing their own car and their insurance goes up and the moped driver is not responsible”.
“There is no way of tracking how many mopeds are on our highway because they are not registered with DMV. We can only track the accidents that get a police report” added Shepard.
With the Governor's signature the law takes effect July 1, 2015.
Additionally the Joint Legislative Transportation Oversight Committee will study whether additional statutory changes are needed to ensure the safe operation of mopeds. The report will also include data on the number of mopeds involved in traffic accidents, the number and types of injuries resulting from traffic accidents involving mopeds, and the causes for the traffic accidents involving mopeds. Those findings will be reported in January when the 2015 General Assembly convenes.
According to NCDMV the requirements currently to operate a moped are:
Must be age 16 or older to operate on NC highways or public vehicular areas.
A motorcycle safety helmet is required by law when operating a moped on NC highways
A moped cannot have a motor of more than 50 cubic cc, an external shifting device, or have the capability of exceeding 30 miles per hour on a level surface.
A driver license is not required.
The moped does not have to be registered, inspected or covered by liability insurance.
In Tennessee anyone with a valid Tennessee driver license may operate a motorized bicycle that is 50cc or less and no endorsement is required on the driver license.
In South Carolina to operate a moped on the public highways and streets, you must be at least 14 years of age, have a valid driver’s license/ motorcycle license, a permit or a valid moped operator’s license.
Also in South Carolina a person whose driver’s license has been suspended for six months or less is not required to obtain a moped operator’s license or possess a valid driver’s license during the period of suspension when operating a moped. No person may operate a moped at a speed in excess of twenty-five miles an hour.
Effective July 1, 2013, Virginia law requires that every moped driver operating on Virginia roadways carry a government-issued photo ID (does not have to be a driver’s license).
Every driver and passenger must wear a helmet * while riding a moped. Drivers must also wear a face shield, safety glasses or goggles unless the moped has a windshield.
Operation of mopeds is prohibited on the interstate.
In Virginia, you must be at least age 16 to drive a moped.
It is illegal to drive a moped if your license is suspended or revoked for convictions of DUI, underage consumption of alcohol, refusing a blood/breath test, or driving while suspended/revoked for a DUI-related offense.
If your driving privilege is suspended or revoked due to a DUI-related conviction, you must be in full compliance with all requirements imposed by DMV and the court before operating a moped.